trevi

fotoAncient Trebe (house) as Plinio called it, soon became a Roman Municipium. In the early Middle Ages its inhabitants were obliged to take shelter within the Roman walls and only in 1264 they built the new circle of walls which still surrounds the town. Places of interest are: the Cathedral of Sant’Emiliano (12th century) with the Holy Sacrament altar richly decorated by Rocco Tommaso (1522) and the Church of St. Francis (1288) with a Giottesque wooden crucifix (early 14th century). The adjoining convent houses the Picture Gallery and the Oil Museum. On the last Sunday of every month Trevi hosts a «flea-market», held in the main square and in the picturesque alleys.